Of Dice and Men: The Story of Dungeons & Dragons and The People Who Play It

This book was provided to me through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I’m just going to say up front that I really enjoyed this book. I’m not a D&D player, but I found this look in to the history of the game, the way it evolved, and its players fascinating. I think the choice to have a D&D player write this was an excellent one. He was in the perfect position to give a fairly objective take on things. He could criticize without sounding harsh, though the book was mostly positive.

I may not be a player, but I am a lifelong nerd, and I have to say that this book made me want to seek out D&D and give it a try. I wouldn’t have to look too hard, I know people who play.

It was nice to read something so positive, and yet at the same time professional in tone, about a quintessentially nerdy pastime. The writing was of nice quality, and felt well researched. Mr Ewalt even provides references for most of his quoted game stats and information. I found that both amusing, and as a non-player, helpful in understanding the details of the book. It was equal parts send up of a beloved hobby by a talented author, and documentary on the evolution of a corner of nerd culture, and the combined result was thoroughly enjoyable.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

